The Art Challenge – Week 2

It’s really amazing how time passes us by when we are in the chaos of it. It’s only when we take a moment and look back on how far we have come do we notice how much of it has actually gone by. This is how I feel right now. I started this challenge 15 days ago, which means I can now say I’m half way done!

Personally, this past week was a bit of a weird one for me. My mind felt cluttered and foggy and I often found myself wondering where the days had gone at the realization that they were over. If you have been following this challenge on my instagram then I’m sure you noticed I forgot to post a few days, mostly because the day would escape me and I would my pieces late in the evening.

Thankfully, this challenge was the only normality of my whole week. Without a doubt I knew it would be there at the end of the day and often found comfort in that amid the fog.

As for the pieces themselves, with the week I have been having, I half expected them to be sub-par, done with little effort. Even after having completed some I would think to myself that I have done better or tried harder. Looking at them now, however, I think I made some really good pieces, pieces that I’m proud of, if I’m being honest.

I did notice myself gravitating more towards watercolor pieces this week as opposed to hand lettering ones, with four out of the seven being watercolor. I mentioned in last week’s update that I felt like I could do with some hand lettering basics and knowing that made me want to avoid hand lettering this week.

For my watercolor pieces I tried to break away from what I’m finding most comfortable and try something new and more challenging. As this is a challenge I felt it necessary to do exactly that, challenge myself. It’s easy to do what I already know I feel confident in and how it will look when completed, so to try something I don’t know how the outcome will be makes me nervous.

I’m a creature of habit, so to try something new is very intimidating for me because I’m afraid of failure. So for this next week I’m hoping to break two things: fear of failing and fear of hand lettering.

 

Leave a Reply

