The Art Challenge – Week 1

It’s been a little over a week now since I set out on this challenge and so far it has been going great! I haven’t missed a day which makes me really happy because I also started school again last week and I was a little concerned I would slack once the priorities started up again.

As it is only the first week I can’t say for sure if I’m feeling any sort of improvement in my work but I can say there are things I’m already learning about myself. I REALLY enjoy painting foliage, be wreaths, leaves, or simple patterns I love it. There’s just something so elegant and simple about some of the pieces I have created that I’m really happy with. My favorite so far definitely has to be the white spruce branch I did because I spent so much time on it and it turned out exactly how I wanted it to!

As for hand lettering I’m finding how intimidating it can be and I find I’m actually spending more time on a piece when it’s hand lettering because I spend too much time trying to get things right the first time. I still love it very much and I’m determined to create kick ass pieces in the future but I think I might be due for some basics first. For the rest of this challenge I still plan on continuing to do hand lettering pieces but I think I’ll make them more practice pieces and less something ambitious.

Overall, I have loved this first week of the challenge and it has honestly become one of the first things I think about when I wake up. “what am I going to create today” and spend way too much time during any breaks between classes or time during my commute scrolling through pinterest looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

