The Art Challenge! (sort of)

If you follow me on instagram then you’re already aware that I dabble in watercolor painting and hand lettering. Both of which have quickly become hobbies that I do pretty regularly now after having picked them up over the later part of the summer. The more I do them the more I learn that I have never found something that is both so challenging yet so calming. Water is stubborn and free flowing so trying to control it is definitely out of the question. But I like to think that I’m slowly learning to work with it.

If you poke around on my blog or have been following me already then you know that during the spring of 2015 I took a beginners drawing class (you can find all my posts about that here). I can safely say that having taken that class has given me a good base to work with when starting watercolors.

The hand lettering on the other hand has been mostly just trial and error with a lot of copying things I like on pinterest. If you’re curious about where exactly I draw my inspiration from I have a board for hand lettering and one for where I draw inspiration from for watercolor painting.

Although I have seen an improvement in these mediums since I first started over the summer, I’m not seeing as much improvement as I had hoped for. In light of this, I’ve decided to set a challenge for myself by doing either watercolor painting, hand lettering, or both every day for the next 30 days. They say that it takes 21 days to develop a habit so I feel confident that with 30 days it will not only become a habit but also help to show a slight improvement.

If you would like to keep up with me on this journey I’ll be posting every day over on my instagram! At the moment I have three days that I posted in bulk this morning because I only just decided yesterday that this was a challenge I wanted to do. I’ll also be doing weekly updates on here every Thursday and I intend on bringing back my “Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist” project seeing as this challenge could be a seen as a “Chapter 2” to the project. Wish me luck everybody!

Leave a Reply

