New Favorite Game?

I think I might have a new favorite game or mini game, I still haven’t decided which category specifically I want to place it in, and it’s called Journey. It was originally released in 2012, so I’m a little late to this hype train but I’m on it now! I’m not a huge gamer but I was bored out of my mind the other day and it was suggested that I might like it (and it happened to be free for download for Playstation Plus people) so I thought, why not. Boy am I glad I did.

It’s one of those games that engages you in all aspects of it you don’t want even get up to use the bathroom. Unfortunately as it is a mini game I ended up finishing it in just a couple of hours but at the same time I liked that I played it straight through because it just felt like it flowed better without stopping. I loved it so much I almost played it again right after having just completed it but I decided against it just to hold on to all that was amazing about it from playing it for the first time. But I definitely will be playing it again really soon.

Journey_20160906125337

You play as a cloaked traveller in the desert who sets out on a journey to reach the top of the mountain where you encounter puzzles and collect charges to lengthen your scarf to help you fly. You might also run into other “travelers” along the way who are actually other players, I ran into ten people during my journey and as a person who prefers to play alone I found it rather fun to see them and help each other through some of the levels.

Not only was the story engaging but the graphics and art are so smooth and beautiful I fell in love almost instantly with it. Not to mention the visuals paired with the really wonderful score that had just the right amount of crescendoing moments to make the hairs on your neck stand up. I feel like just as standalone music and if you had no intention of playing the game you would still enjoy the score, but honestly it gives more feeling if you have played the game and especially when you’re playing the game.

screenshot-3

I have included a link to the score here for your listening pleasure if you’re so interested and if you’re a nerd like me who likes behind the scene stuff then you’ll enjoy this particular link because it also had annotated commentary by the composer all throughout the video as well as concept art and fan art on screen.

Overall, I strongly recommend this game to everyone, even if gaming is not really your thing because it’s really easy to pick up and get into. This game gets a definite 4.5 stars out of 5 only because my only complaint is that it was too damn short.

 

Disclaimer: I do not own any of the pictures, they are screenshots I took while I was playing and all the art belongs to the proper artists, developers, and creators.

Leave a Reply

