Captured Moments – July

 

This month was one that, looking back on, I really enjoyed. Sure I yet again couldn’t find a job but that’s okay it allowed for more time to spend with friends and family. The way I try to see it is that I spend eight months out of the year stressing my butt off and work hard to do well in school that a month like this one was like a breath of fresh air.

As we do every summer my Dad and I made the long trip up north to visit my grandmother, an 86 year old woman who is still kicking it I’m proud to say. It was nice to get out of the city and breathe some country air for a change and what makes it more enjoyable is that she lives a stone’s throw away from a river so the views are one I wished I woke up to every morning. I think my favorite moment from this whole trip was when it was just the two of us and she sat me down with a mushed strawberries, sugar, and cream concoction and I was introduced to what is now my new favorite dessert!

1407-sg

After getting back I was still in the dizzy daydream that was country style life and so I decided to take a visit to my city’s art gallery (which is free so I tend to make use of this about four to six times a year). As long as I can remember art galleries have always been a magical place for me. I always enjoy walking the halls peering into the visual imagination of an artist creating stories in my head of the scene I am looking at. It was also on this visit that I determined my new favorite artist is Jean-Joseph Benjamin-Constant who I saw in an exhibition two years ago and rediscovered and now joins the ranks of Claude Monet and Vincent Van Gogh as my favorites.

1423-sg

Summer is in its prime here in Canada and personally I am loving it. I may be a Canadian but my blood is warm and I hate the winter, which sucks when it’s what we endure for four to five months out of the year. My boyfriend and I have recently re-discovered the joy of picnicking. This month we had our second picnic together and I can honestly say that it was one of the best days we have had just doing nothing in a long time. Normally we’re both so busy with something that to be able to take the time just to eat and spend some well needed time together was wonderful.

One thing I really love about the city that I live in now is that it’s big enough to have a large city center but also quiet suburban areas to escape from all the hustle and bustle. Being in a city that big allows for always having something to do I find. So one day, just last week actually, my boyfriend and I decided to have a date day and visit the botanical gardens (originally the planetarium but all the tickets were sold out). It was positively one of the loveliest date days we have had in a long while.

1578-sg

On the same day that we visited the gardens we also visited the Biodôme and this little guy was the cutest thing I had seen all day (aside from my rabbit at home of course, but I’m biased about her). And although I don’t really have any good pictures of them we also got to see the penguins which I think was a good way to end not only the date on but the month as well.

 

Leave a Reply

