Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist – Day 9

It was the second to last class yesterday and I’m going to be honest and say that I have been slacking in the practicing department and I definitely felt it. I spent most of the class beating myself up for it which probably didn’t help because I started hesitating again and trying too hard to make up for lost practice. I definitely see why so many artists tell me that the only way to get better is not to stop otherwise you lose everything you have worked up to.

I’m kind of disappointed in myself for slacking considering I’m nearing the end of the course and I wanted to make use of all the time I have to continue to improve. In the end I’m a little nervous because we are expected to bring everything we have learned throughout the class together into one final drawing. I want to put everything I have into it and make it my best work but I’m scared that my slacking will set me back.

I’m trying not to be too discouraged and have simply vouched to practice every day starting yesterday. I know it will come back to me again in due time and I’ll continue to improve again I just find myself quickly getting frustrated when things don’t look right. I know doing that just makes things worse but when I’m under pressure (no matter what it is) I always expect more out of myself than what I’m (probably) capable of. I need to remember that I am still learning and that I am doing a lot better than when I first started so it’s not as if I’m not improving. Everything with time.

See you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

