Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist – Day 8

9189 sg

Yesterday’s class was one I found to be a calm and relaxing one. Normally I feel nervous upon applying something newly learned to paper as I’m sure you might have noticed if you have read my other posts but yesterday I barely felt the time passing. I think I can speak for everyone when I say that we have all finally sunk into the swing of the class and it has become more routine now. Teacher talks, model gets into position, draw. I’m by no means saying it has become boring but more that we have found our flow and are settling into it. It probably has to do with the fact that we are nearing the end of our “semester” so I think now we are just tying up the final ends.

It makes me sad to know it’s almost over and even sadder to know I might not be able to take another class at the school this summer but I’m looking forward to seeing what I’m capable of at the end of it. Even just yesterday I could feel a slight difference in my drawing particularly in my speed. We were to focus on shadowing our figure and I found myself not spending as much time on the building of the outline of the body as I used to. I think this is because I realized that, although it’s still relatively new to me, shadowing helps to give the mass of your figure and you can fill in its shape later.

It’s tempting to look back to the beginning now to see how much I have improved but I really want to save that for the last class. For now, I will try and focus on the pointers I have been given in order to improve because there’s always room for more improvement. For me it’s to stop hesitating and to stop thinking so much as well as not using so many lines! If I can just improve on these points then I’m sure I will feel even more of an improvement by the end of it.

With this new feeling of improvement I do plan on continuing practicing, new class or not. Like I previously mentioned I hardly felt the time passing and was shocked when I found out it was 12 o’clock and the class was over. It’s been a while since I have had this feeling and I can honestly say that it’s refreshing. You don’t realize how much you miss something until it happens again.

See you next Saturday!

Leave a Reply

