Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist – Day 7

9190 sg

I’m finding that every time something new is introduced in the class I get somewhat nervous because I feel like I won’t catch on as fast with things as my classmates. When I look around I always feel like they get it from the first time but I feel like it takes me longer. I’m excited when we move on to the next new thing but at the same time it feels a little fast for me and I feel like I fall behind.

Saturday was learning how to apply shadows and at first I was excited but as we actually started doing it I started to feel more and more unsure of myself again. I don’t really know what it is exactly, maybe it’s the perfection in me, maybe it’s afraid of being laughed at for trying, either way I hate how much it comes between me and being able to try. I want to stop being afraid of trying, I mean that’s part of the reason I decided to take the class in the first place; to try something new. I only have 3 more classes left and I sure as hell do not want to let them go to waste.

When I think back to it and try my hand again at what I learned on Saturday, it doesn’t seem that difficult or that intimidating. I’m not saying I got it down pat but I’m slowing getting the hang of it more than I felt I was when it was introduced on Saturday. I know that everyone learns things at different speeds so sure photography came to me quickly but maybe art is something I have to spend more time on. If that’s all it is I can manage that maybe I won’t like it too much, but I’m not one who is willing to give up on things.

See you on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

