Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist- Day 4

9170 sg

Apparently we have finally entered in what the main focus of this course is designed for. Drawing the human form! Last week was the face and now we have moved on to basic figure drawing but only in rough sketch and outline. No details, no shading and no specifics, just basics. I’m relatively excited to finally be getting into drawing the human form because my people always come out looking small headed, long torsoed and long legged. I kind of like that about the people I draw because it’s my own personal style but I think it’s also good to be able to properly draw a human figure in general.

Having just begun I still find myself struggling with the same problem of a long torso and long legs and my teacher had to show me how to fix it. The thing I have found is that I understand the method shown to us by measuring an object with our pencil and applying it to our drawing but I think I could really do for more practice. The thing about practicing is that I still struggle no matter how much I try and practice. Things don’t look right and I’m not too sure how to fix it.

I really enjoy this class and want to improve but I find myself not wanting to practice out of fear of being faced with the same struggle and getting disappointed. What I want to do is find a way to work around this struggle. So instead of sitting around and sulking about it I’m deciding to make use of the resources given to us. I will go on my teacher’s website and replay his tutorial videos over and over and do the exercises from class and draw the same thing 15 times if I have to. But I am not going to give up or else I’m going to feel as though this was a waste of time and I don’t want it to have been!

See you on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

