Chronicles of a Wannabe Artist- Day 1

9304 sgI often struggle with what I want the main focus of this blog to be or what I want to primarily write about and I think it’s safe to say this has been a struggle for almost a year now (as you can tell from how much content I lack here). I’ve come to notice that a lot of these things just start out as someone sharing what they like or their experiences in life. So, I decided to look into my life, past the university grind and mountains of readings I need to do, and find something to just chat to the internet about; and that something I’ve decided are my art classes.

Last month I, some-what spontaneously, decided that I wanted to take art classes, which is strange for me considering I avoided the medium like it was a disease all throughout high school and college. I don’t think I’m terrible at it, I just had this huge fear of needing to compete with my classmates who I felt were much better at it than me. But now that I’m older and no longer have as many creative outlets as before, I crave it. I honestly don’t know why I chose art, perhaps it was to try something new, or maybe it’s because I’m still young and feel as though I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with my life. Who knows. But for now, it’s art.

Today I had my first class and I can happily say it was better than what I was expecting. There are no grades or no completely proper way of doing things and it’s a small class where more focus is put on the students, and you can tell that everyone from the students to the teacher are very involved. It’s nice to walk into a space where everyone wants the same thing you do and aren’t just chasing pieces of paper that secure their future.

What I’ve decided to do is write about my time in this class so that by the end of it I will be able to look back and see how I’ve changed and how much I’ve improved. I hope those of you reading will enjoy watching me grow and that we can laugh at my struggles and accomplishments together.

See you next Saturday!

Leave a Reply

