Happy Easter!

IMG_9251 sg

So it’s that time of the year again where the big fluffy bunny pays us a visit and we all indulge ourselves with over priced chocolates and then gather as a family to eat a big hearty meal. Now my family has never been big on any holidays really, we tend to just use it as an excuse to gather and eat food together. But as the years have gone by and I have grown older, holidays have changed for me, especially after I moved away from home. I have gone from family meals to my dad paying me a visit in my new city to this year where I’m spending it all by myself. Another strange aspect being that my boyfriend doesn’t even celebrate Easter with his family until next weekend seeing as they are orthodox. So it was a little weird when he wished me a happy Easter this morning before leaving for work.

But you know, I don’t mind. Yes, it does make me a little sad not to have the traditional meal with my family or a visit from my dad but I’m not crying over it. It is a little strange though to be able to hear all my neighbors bustling with family activity around me but I am pleased as punch just to sit here with my chocolate eggs and binge watch Netflix. Now don’t get me wrong, this is not a pity post, it is just my ramblings of what it is to be a student away from home on a holiday.

So I would like to wish you all a very happy Easter no matter what you are doing or where you are. And if you are like me feeling slightly left out from all the activities, try and make the best of it on your own. Go for a walk, bake some muffins, go to the corner store and buy loads of chocolate, watch your favorite movie or television series, the list is endless. Or if you want an to make an Easter craft keep scrolling for my short tutorial on how to make an Easter stamp!

You will need: Carving tools, an exacto knife, piece of paper, pencil, rubber (stamp base)

You will need: Carving tools, an exacto knife, piece of paper, pencil, rubber (stamp base)

IMG_9266

Next, draw your egg with the design onto a piece of paper making sure to draw it on really dark otherwise it won’t transfer as clearly. Also to note: for mine, I want the lines to be what shows up on the image not the large part so I make sure to make thick lines to carve around.

IMG_9269

Next, press your image onto the rubber stamp base. If it comes out somewhat faded as mine did, simply go over the lines again in pencil.

IMG_9272

Finally, carve out the image! Like I said, I wanted to have the transfer image make the lines stand out so I cut out the large areas, but you can carve it which ever way you want to. I also recommend carving out your egg shape so that you get the egg image and not a square.

Leave a Reply

